What is a chicken gizzard do?

Think of gizzards as a chickens teeth! Gizzard is the tough ridged internal muscle found in a chicken's upper gastric tract that performs the same function as molar teeth in mammalian omnivores. They grind food injested so the chicken can better digest more easily.