What are cordyceps mushrooms?

Cordyceps is a genus of fungi that includes about 600 species. Most species are endoparasitoids, parasitic mainly on insects and other arthropods; a few are parasitic on other fungi. One particular species, Ophiocordyceps unilateralis, has become famous for its ability to turn ants into zombies.