Why are fart smelly?

Farts contain sulfur dioxide, a very smelly chemical that gives a fart its smell.

---

Farts are smelly because gut bacteria breaks down food in the digestive system, which creates hydrogen sulfide, a gas that smells like rotten eggs and the excess is expelled via flatulence.