Was the wizard of oz in color in nineteen thirty nine?

The Wizard of Oz was filmed in both, Sepia (a brownish black & white), & Technicolor, in 1939. Scenes in Kansas were in Sepia, & scenes in OZ were filmed in color. That said, most people saw it on Black & White TV sets, so many didn't see the true film colors until Color TV came around.