Is egypt part of the middle east?

Egypt is normally included in maps of the Middle East, although it is in Northeast Africa because Egyptians speak Arabic, and Egypt has been a major player in the politics of the Middle East for literally thousands of years, so it is difficult to conceive of the region without Egypt.