Does hot water boil faster or cold water?

Hot water boils faster than cold water. While cold water will absorb heat much faster than hot water, hot water will reach a boil sooner than cold water.

---

"Cold water does not boil faster than hot water. The rate of heating of a liquid depends on the magnitude of the temperature difference between the liquid and its surroundings (the flame on the stove, for instance).