Are date pits edible?

Purposefully ingesting fruit seeds or pits is not recommended. Some stone fruit pits naturally contain cyanide. However, date seeds are not poisonous if ingested in small amounts. Date pits have even been used in the middle east as a therapeutic tool by people to help with various ailments.