Is wax paper compostable?

The paper in wax paper is a compostable material. The wax is either soybean based, or one of two kinds of paraffin. Soybean wax is organic, but it is a wax, and is difficult for microbes to digest. Paraffin is composed of either vegetable oil or petroleum based.