What do pigs in minecraft eat?

Pigs eat carrots, potatoes or beetroot. Chickens eat seeds (most easily obtained from wheat or long grass, but they will eat any kind of seed, such as pumpkin or melon seeds). You will also want to harvest some wood to construct fences and gates to build enclosures.