What's the difference between birch beer and root beer?

The primary difference between birch beer and root beer is in their primary ingredient. The first one contains a birch bark, while the second recipe includes sassafras root. Root beer recipes contain various herbs, such as ginger, anise, molasses, cinnamon, clove, honey, licorice, and wintergreen.