Why do they call it hot dogs?

When vendors in the New York Polo Grounds in 1901 were screaming, “They're red hot! Get your dachshund sausages while they're red hot!” the cartoonist observed and drew barking dachshund sausages in a warm roll. He didn't know how to spell 'dachshund', so he simply wrote 'hot dog!