What is a maid of honor in a wedding?

A maid of honor is responsible for being the head of the bridesmaids, keeping them organized. Typically, the maid of honor leads the bridesmaids in planning a bridal shower and often a bachelorette party. On the day of the wedding, a maid of honor helps the bride get dressed and stay calm.