Tell me about ultraviolet rays?

Ultraviolet light is a type of electromagnetic radiation that makes black-light posters glow, and is responsible for summer tans and sunburns. However, too much exposure to UV radiation is damaging to living tissue. UV light falls in the range of the EM spectrum between visible light and X-rays.