How much does a female chicken weigh?

The weight of an average chicken varies depending on the breed. According to Farm Animal Shelters, female layer chickens tend to weigh between 5 to 13 pounds. Other chickens such as Leghorns weigh significantly less than typical female layers. Leghorns usually weight around 3 to 6 pounds.