How many spaces are in a staff?

There are 4 spaces and five lines around them in a musical staff. A mnemonic for remembering which notes are in the treble staff is the word F-A-C-E, FACE; for the bass staff, the pattern is A-C-E-G; it's not a word, but it is, er, something.