What is the difference between buttermilk and milk?

Cultured Buttermilk that you can purchase from a grocery store is milk that has been fermented with lactic acid to give it a sour, acidic flavor and a thicker consistency. Traditional buttermilk is the liquid that is left over when cream is churned into butter.