How many miles can an average person run?

There is no exact distance figure, it depends on the person's health and endurance. An out of shape person may not ever run one mile, but on average a non competitive relatively in-shape person can run a mile in 9 to 10 minutes. Elite marathon runners average a mile in 4 to 5 minutes.