What are the n. f. l. overtime rules?

The current rules give both teams the opportunity to possess the ball at least once in overtime unless the team that receives the overtime kickoff scores a touchdown on its first possession. In 2017, NFL owners approved shortening overtime in the preseason and regular season to 10 minutes from 15.