What are the n. f. l. overtime rules?

The current NFL rules give both teams the opportunity to possess the ball at least once in overtime, unless the team that receives the overtime kickoff scores a touchdown on its first possession. If the score is still tied at the end of the one 10 minute overtime, the game will be recorded as a tie.

---

The current rules give both teams the opportunity to possess the ball at least once in overtime unless the team that receives the overtime kickoff scores a touchdown on its first possession. In 2017, NFL owners approved shortening overtime in the preseason and regular season to 10 minutes from 15.