Who is considered the father of sci-fi?

Most people consider Jules Verne (1828-1905) to be the Father of Sci-Fi. However, I believe there is a stronger case for Savinien de Cyrano de Bergerac, 1619-1655, the inspiration for Rostand's book Cyrano de Bergerac. He was the 1st to write about a trip to the moon, using a sequence of rockets.

---

H.G. Wells. He, along with Jules Verne, is regarded as one of the creators of the genre. He has also been called 'the Shakespeare of Science Fiction.'