Tell me the history of puerto rico?

The history of Puerto Rico began with the settlement of the Ortoiroid people between 430 BC and AD 1000. In 1508, Juan Ponce de León founded the first European settlement, Caparra, near a bay on the island's northern coast; Caparra was renamed Puerto Rico or “rich port” in 1521.