What is the origin of kombucha?

Kombucha is said to have originated in Northeast China, known historically as Manchuria, around 220 B.C.. In another origin story, a Korean doctor, Dr. Kombu, developed the process and brought the fermented drink to Japan as a curative for Emperor Inkyo.