How loud is a hundred decibels?

100 decibels is 8 times louder than 70 decibels. Some noises around 100 decibels include an outboard motor, power lawnmower, motorcycle, farm tractor, or jackhammer. 8 hours of continuous exposure to 100-decibel noise can lead to hearing loss.