How do you measure a quart of wood?

Here's one way: grind it up until you have a pile of sawdust, then fill a one quart container. Here's another: a quart is 57.75 cubic inches. A standard 2x4 is 1.5 by 3.5 inches, giving it a cross section of 5.25 square inches. Therefore an 11 inch length of 2x4 is one quart of wood.