Can you boil salt water?

Yes, salt water just has a higher boiling point than plain tap water. For cooking purposes, usually salt is added to water when cooking, to add a bit extra flavor to what is being cooked. There is usually not enough salt added when cooking to add any significant time to boiling the water.