How long does it take to thaw a frozen cake?

2-3 hours And it is fine if you prefer to thaw the cake unwrapped, but don't leave it to stand around uncovered for too long after it has thawed as it could start to stale. Thin cake layers will usually thaw in 2-3 hours, larger cakes can take quite a bit longer.