What was heart island used for?

Hart Island, located in the Bronx in New York City, is the home to City Cemetery, a potter’s field where the bodies of the unknown or unclaimed are buried. There are over 1 million people buried on Hart Island. New York City bought Hart Island in 1868 and has used it as a mass graveyard since 1869.