What's a lychee fruit?

Lychee is a tropical fruit. It's native to China but can grow in certain warm regions of the U.S like Florida and Hawaii. Lychee is also known as "alligator strawberry" for its red, bumpy skin.

---

Lychee is a unique fruit borne on a tropical tree of the Soapberry family, native to China. The fruits are about the size of a small plum, with a single seed surrounded by a translucent white chewy flesh, somewhat floral in flavor. The inedible skin of the fruit is rough but peels away easily