How many different rocks are there?

The 3 classes of rock are igneous, sedimentary, and metamorphic. Igneous rocks form from solidified molten rock. Sedimentary rocks form when particles settle out of water or air, and accumulate in layers. Metamorphic rocks result when existing rocks are changed by heat, pressure, and/or fluids.