Do truffles need to be refrigerated?

Truffles are best stored in the refrigerator in a large jar, each wrapped in a paper towel to prevent them getting wet. Truffles lose moisture (weight) and aroma continually if not refrigerated.

---

For both the strong-smelling underground fungus or the soft candy with the chocolate center of the same name, Truffles are best stored short term in the fridge. For long term storage, use the freezer.