What is a vulcan?

Vulcan is the god of fire including the fire of volcanoes, deserts, metalworking and the forge in ancient Roman religion and myth. Vulcans are also a fictional extraterrestrial humanoid species in the Star Trek universe, who seem to lack emotion or are overly analytical and boring.