What's the fastest way to get x. p. in minecraft?

With the redstone update, mining Nether Quartz has become the fastest method to gain experience. You can reach level 30 in minutes actively looking for it. Bring along a couple potions of fire resistance, make sure you don't attack zombie pigmen, and it's a relatively safe mining experience.