Is the one and only ivan based on true story?

The One and Only Ivan is a work of fiction, but the inspiration lies with a true story. Ivan, a real gorilla, lived at Zoo Atlanta. He spent almost three decades without seeing another of his own kind before being moved to Zoo Atlanta in 1994.