What is the function of the sun?

Compared with the billions of other stars in the universe, the sun is unremarkable. But for Earth and the other planets that revolve around it, the sun is a powerful center of attention.It holds the solar system together;provides life-giving light,heat,and energy to Earth;and generates space weather