What type of animal is yoshi?

Yoshi is a fictional dinosaur-like character who appears in video games, mostly ones in the Mario franchise, published by Nintendo. Yoshi debuted in Super Mario World (1990) on the Super Nintendo Entertainment System as Mario and Luigi's sidekick.