Where do baby back ribs come from?

Whereas spare ribs come from the belly area, baby back ribs are taken from around loin, the muscle that runs along the pig's back on either side of the spine. They're curvier and shorter than spareribs (hence, the diminutive “baby”) with lots of lean meat both between and on top of the bones.