How did the ss america sink?

The SS America was an American cruise ship and ocean liner that served under various names for 54 years. It sank in 1994 during a storm while it was being towed to its next "life." The ship broke free of its tow lines and despite the crew's efforts, hit a rife off the Canary Islands and sank.