How many dinosaurs lived a long time ago?

Approximately 700 species of dinosaur have been named. However, recent scientific review suggests that only about half of these are based on complete specimens that can be shown to be separate species. Recent estimates suggest that about 700 to 900 more dinosaur genera may remain to be discovered.