What's in a cinnamon?

Cinnamon is a spice obtained from the inner bark of several tree species from the genus Cinnamomum. Ground cinnamon is composed of around 11% water, 81% carbohydrates, 4% protein, and 1% fat. The flavor of cinnamon is due to an aromatic essential oil that makes up 0.5 to 1% of its composition.