Who invented the first rocket ship?

No one person invented the first spacecraft, rather it was the work of a large team. The first ship to safely put a man in space was Vostok 1 in 1961; Sergei Korolëv was the lead designer of the Soviet space program at the time. Additionally, Wernher von Braun is regarded as the father of Rocketry.