Who originally coined the term meme?

“Meme”, was coined by the evolutionary biologist, Richard Dawkins, in his 1976 book, The Selfish Gene. In the book he states the following: We need a name for the new replicator, a noun that conveys the idea of a unit of cultural transmission, or a unit of imitation.