Why are christmas trees pine trees?

They're usually firs. The evergreen fir tree has been used to celebrate winter festivals for thousands of years. Pagans used branches of it to decorate their homes during the winter solstice, as it made them think of the spring to come. Christians use it as a sign of everlasting life with God.