Who is the greatest comic book villain?

The Joker is considered by many to be the greatest comic book villain. The Joker first appeared in the first issue of the comic book Batman on April 25th, 1940. Other villains that are often considered to be the greatest include Lex Luthor, Doctor Doom, and Magneto.