What was the treaty of versailles?

The Treaty of Versailles (French: Traité de Versailles) was the most important of the peace treaties that brought World War I to an end. The Treaty ended the state of war between Germany and the Allied Powers. The treaty was registered by the Secretariat of the League of Nations on 21 October 1919.