How big was king kong?

King Kong was originally made into film in 1933. Since then, over 10 Kong films have been made. In each of them his size changes. In some scenes he is 18 feet tall. In other scenes, he reaches 70 feet in stature, to appear threatening and dangerous. He averages 50 feet in height in most scenes.