How high can an owl fly?

When an owl flies it is hunting for food or on the attack. In either case they fly only as high as necessary to clear obstacles. Owls can fly higher but don't need to, to hunt. There are owls that live around Denver Colorado and farther up in the mountains so they can fly higher.