How do you substitute butter for shortening?

In small quantities, butter can usually be substituted at a one to one ratio for shortening. In larger quantities, one cup of shortening requires one cup plus two tablespoons of butter. Since shortening does not contain any water, while butter does, the substitution may alter the final result.