What is a poppy plant?

Poppy is a flowering plant of the family Papaveraceae. These herbaceous (not woody) plants, are often grown for their colourful flowers. One particular species of poppy, is the source of the narcotic drug opium, which contains powerful medicinal alkaloids such as morphine.