What does pocketful of posies mean?

From the English children's rhyme "Ring Around the Rosie", the lyric "A Pocket Full of Posies" has been alleged to refer to flowers carried by people to avoid the stench of corpses who were victims of the Black Plague. Most folklorists reject this interpretation.