What is the definition of a walk?

The general definition of a walk is to move at a regular pace by lifting and setting down each foot in turn, never having both feet off the ground at once. In baseball, a walk occurs when a pitcher throws four pitches out of the strike zone, none of which are swung at by the hitter.