What are nigella seeds?

Nigella seeds are a spice harvested from the plant Nigella sativa, which probably first grew in the Fertile Crescent and now grows throughout India and Egypt. While they can smell a bit like onions, they typically have a mild somewhat "peppery" flavor, which intensifies when cooked